Greetings from the Board of Trustees of St Mary's College.

Our mission: the Mercy tradition of love in action

St Mary's College mission is to provide a Catholic education in the Mercy tradition of love in action, and to prepare students for their role as Christian women in a changing world. The Board of Trustees, as the College's governing body, is committed to promoting the Mercy values of social justice, compassion for others, and the pursuit of excellence in all aspects of school life.

An effective learning environment

We are responsible to the Government and to our school community for ensuring that St Mary's College provides a safe, healthy, and effective learning environment. We have high expectations for all of our students. We endeavour to provide a learning environment which reflects our country's cultural diversity and recognises the unique position of Tangata Whenua. We teach and encourage our students to care for the environment.

Representative of the school community

The members of the Board listed below reflect the makeup of our school community – senior management, staff, students, parents and caregivers, past pupils, and the Sisters of Mercy who own the school.

Welcoming meetings

The Board meets once a month. All parents, caregivers and visitors are most welcome. Details of the next meeting may be obtained from the school office.

Subcommittees meet regularly

The Board also operates several subcommittees – Finance, Property, Special Character, Policies, Charter, Personnel, Appointments, Health and Safety – that meet regularly to deal with issues that come within their specific focus. They report to the full Board.

Bring your ideas and feedback

We value ideas, input, feedback, and welcome suggestions, comments, or questions. You may contact the Board by writing to the Chairperson at the school address.











The Board of Trustees members are:

  • Mr Craig Brownie (Chair and Parent Trustee)
  • Mr Nick Hill (Parent Trustee)
  • Mrs Fa'aulu Tomuli Liuliu-Afoa (Parent Trustee)
  • Mrs Elizabeth Vesty (Parent Trustee)
  • Ms Rachel Devine Muir (Parent Trustee)
  • Mr David Piper (Parent Trustee)
  • Mr Patrick Ryan (Proprietor's Trustee)
  • Dr Jo Williams (Proprietor's Trustee)
  • Mrs Katie John (Staff Trustee)
  • Miss Franchesca Evangelista (Student Trustee)
  • Mrs Suey Bignall (Secretary











With best wishes

Craig Brownie

2018 Meeting Dates:

19 February
26 March
7 May
28 May
25 June
30 July
27 August
24 September
29 October
3 December